Not Your Sidekick by CB Lee Review

81vl4z7n7il

Summary: Welcome to Andover… where superpowers are common, but internships are complicated. Just ask high school nobody, Jessica Tran. Despite her heroic lineage, Jess is resigned to a life without superpowers and is merely looking to beef-up her college applications when she stumbles upon the perfect (paid!) internship—only it turns out to be for the town’s most heinous supervillain. On the upside, she gets to work with her longtime secret crush, Abby, who Jess thinks may have a secret of her own. Then there’s the budding attraction to her fellow intern, the mysterious “M,” who never seems to be in the same place as Abby. But what starts as a fun way to spite her superhero parents takes a sudden and dangerous turn when she uncovers a plot larger than heroes and villains altogether.

(via Goodreads)

My rating: 5/5 stars

Pros: Good characters, interesting plot, good worldbuilding, adorable romance

Cons: occasional typos

This book is amazing. I don’t know if I’ll be able to adequately express all of the reasons why in my review but I will try my best. I would like to start out by saying, though, that this book is just amazing. It’s hopeful without being unrealistic. It’s suspenseful without being too dramatic. It’s adorable without being too cutesy. It mentions important social issues in a way that doesn’t feel forced. This book is just amazing. If I could read nothing but this book for the rest of my life, I’d be happy. It’s amazing.

First of all, the characters. Jess is such a likable protagonist. She isn’t larger than life like some YA protagonists. Although I love Harry and Katniss as much as the next person, it’s nice to see a protagonist that I could imagine being like. She is admirable and heroic but she’s also a real person. She isn’t the perfect heroic archetype. And that’s what makes her even more heroic. She’s real. She’s flawed. She’s an average person, powers or no powers. And I think it’s so inspiring to show that average people can be heroes too. Jess is such a genuinely sweet person as well. She’s kind, she’s caring, she’s (in my opinion) far more intelligent than she gives herself credit for. She’s loyal to her friends. She stands up for what she believes in. I just…gah, I just love her so much. I could go on forever but I don’t want to take up the entire review talking about Jess. Though, believe me, I could. Now on to Abby. In the beginning I wasn’t sure about her as Jess’ love interest because she seemed to be the stereotypical popular girl. However, she is a far more interesting character than that. She’s intelligent, she’s caring, she’s dedicated, she stands up for what she believes in. She’s a great character and I love her and she’s definitely a fitting love interest for Jess. Jess’ friends Emma and Bells are also wonderful characters. I have to say I find Bells more interesting than Emma, though that may be because he’s a more prominent character in the story and therefore the reader has more time to get to know him.  I can’t wait for the next book in his perspective.

Secondly, the plot. It moves along at a perfect pace, not too fast not too slow. The plot moves slowly enough to allow for character development yet quickly enough so that the reader doesn’t get bored. Especially near the end. The ending of the book is action packed. I couldn’t put the book down while reading the ending.

Thirdly, worldbuilding. The world that is created in this book is extremely interesting. In my Goodreads review I compared this book to a cross between Sky High and The Hunger Games and I think that comparison stands. The book has the super powers being genetic like in Sky High and a dystopian society like in The Hunger Games yet it also has its own elements as well. I don’t want to spoil anyone but let’s just say it isn’t as simple as that. It has some differences, of course, as well as some plot twists that take the story down interesting turns.

Now for the romance. Jess and Abby’s romance develops at a perfect pace. It doesn’t move too quickly, leaving the reader wondering when exactly they were supposed to have fallen in love. It also doesn’t move too slowly, making the reader want to shake the characters and get them together already. The romance is also just a very sweet and adorable one. Jess and Abby have good chemistry and a solid foundation of friendship to build their romance on. They have physical chemistry too but that chemistry is not built through angsty tension as it sometimes is in other stories and I have to say it’s a nice change. Jess and Abby seem to have better communication skills than many YA couples and I am thankful for that. Because a relationship can be passionate and romantic without one person treating the other person badly/refusing to communicate. Jess and Abby are just great together. They’re the ff couple I’ve always wanted but never knew I needed. I can’t wait to see more of them as the series goes on.

The only “con” in this book is that there are occasional typos (at least in my copy of the book), words put in sentences where they don’t belong. Honestly, this isn’t a big deal. It doesn’t happen often and isn’t important enough to significantly impact my enjoyment of the book. The fact is, this book is simply amazing. So amazing, in fact, that the only thing I can think of to mention in the cons section has nothing to do  with the actual story.

In case it isn’t obvious from this glowing review, this book is amazing, wonderful, excellent, brilliant, awesome, and all the other good words in the world. If you’re a fan of superheroes, standing up for what’s right, and adorable romances, I’d definitely recommend this book. Even if you’re not usually a superhero person, I’d recommend giving this book a try. It’s just that good.

Goodreads Link/ Amazon Link 

I read this book for #DiversityBingo2017.

6 thoughts on “Not Your Sidekick by CB Lee Review

  1. A.M.B. says:

    This book sounds great! It’s nice to see that the occasional typos didn’t mitigate your enjoyment of the book. Typos aren’t a bit deal to me, but they are for some people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

