To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before & PS I Still Love You by Jenny Han Review

screenshot_2014-04-23-13-54-05-1

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

(via Goodreads )

My rating: 3/5 stars

Pros: Good characters, Good relationships, Realistic, Quick Read

Cons: Not too exciting, Predictable

I’ve read one of Jenny Han’s other books, The Summer I Turned Pretty . I didn’t like it. But I heard a lot of good things about To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and I believe in second chances so I decided to read it. I’m glad I did. This book was 10,000000x better than The Summer I Turned Pretty. 

Firstly, the characters. Lara Jean is very down to earth and I believe very mature. Does she have flaws? Of course. And that, in the end, is a good thing. Characters with no flaws are boring to read about and unrealistic. Peter is surprisingly kind and adorably flawed. I thought I’d end up hating him but I, like Lara Jean, fell for him. Kitty is adorable and adorably annoying. Margot is mature and grounded yet also realistically flawed.

Secondly, the relationships between the characters. Of course there’s Lara Jean and Peter. Their relationship develops beautifully and I began shipping it before I even realized I was, much like how Lara Jean fell for Peter. There’s also Lara Jean’s relationships with her family. With Margot. With Kitty. With her father. All of those relationships are wonderful and make sense for both characters.

In general, this book is very realistic. All the characters feel like they could be real and all the events seem like they could really happen. Though that does lead to the book not being too exciting and also being a bit predictable. I still enjoyed it, though.

I would recommend this book and its sequel to anyone who likes a good contemporary/romance book.

Goodreads link  / Amazon link

p-s-i-still-love-you-9781442426733_lg

Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter.
She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever.
When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once?

In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of what makes it so amazing.

(via Goodreads)

My rating: 3/5 stars

Pros: Good characters, Good relationships, Realistic, Quick Read

Cons: Not too exciting, Predictable, a bit too much drama

Most of my opinions about PS I Still Love You are the same as my opinions about To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before so I’ll keep this brief.

The characters and relationships continue to be good. The book is still realistic. It’s still a bit predictable. Though this book did have a bit more drama than the first one, which was a bit annoying. Yet that added to the realism. The high school drama is just what would happen. So is the relationship drama. Though it isn’t much fun to read about, it’s what makes the characters and the world realistic. And I definitely enjoyed this book in spite of it.

I’m definitely looking forward to the next book in the series.

Goodreads link / Amazon link

 

 

4 thoughts on “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before & PS I Still Love You by Jenny Han Review

Leave a Reply

